The Academy Invites 31 New Production Design Branch Members

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is inviting 31 creatives to join the AMPAS Production Design Branch including 13 production designers.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 842 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures including 31 new invitations to the AMPAS Production Design Branch.

The 2019 class is 50% women, 29% people of color, and represents 59 countries. Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2019.

Those invited included 13 Production Designers, 10 Art Directors, 7 Set Decorators, and 1 Graphic Designer. New members will be welcomed into the Academy at invitation-only receptions in the fall.

For the full list of those invited, go to the official AMPAS site.

The Academy Invites 31 New Production Design Branch Members including 13 Production Designers and 7 Set Decorators Share on X

AMPAS Production Design Branch

New Academy Awards Production Design Branch Members

Production Designers

Michel Barthelemy – “The Sisters Brothers,” “Rust and Bone”

Hussein Baydoun – “Capernaum,” “The Insult”

Silke Buhr – “Never Look Away,” “Who Am I”

Charisse Cardenas – “American Sniper,” “The Lincoln Lawyer”

Chris Cornwell – “Ride Along,” “The Ides of March”

Fiona Crombie – “The Favourite,” “Macbeth”

Bryony Foster – “Safe,” “Shanghai Noon”

Shepherd Frankel – “Ant-Man and the Wasp,” “27 Dresses”

Vera Hamburguer – “Today (Hoje),” “Castelo Rá-Tim-Bum, o Filme”

Jeremy Hindle – “Detroit,” “Zero Dark Thirty”

Stephen J. Lineweaver – “Ted,” “Jerry Maguire”

Marcel Sławiński – “Cold War,” “The Mill & the Cross”

Katarzyna Sobańska Strzałkowska – “Cold War,” “In Darkness”


Art Directors

Stephen Cooper – “Hell or High Water,” “Patriots Day”

Craig Foster – “Inside Out,” “Up”

Tamara Marini – “Spectre,” “Jumper”

Desma Murphy – “Aquaman,” “Project X”

Cornelia Ott – “Jason Bourne,” “Valkyrie”

Sebastian Schroeder – “Bumblebee,” “The Jane Austen Book Club”

David Edward Scott – “Captain America: Civil War,” “Tron: Legacy”

Fredda Slavin – “Violet & Daisy,” “Limitless”

Emelia Weavind – “Queen of Katwe,” “District 9”

Jann K. Engel – “Avengers EndGame,” “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”


Set Decorators

Daniel Birt – “The Mummy,” “Chappie”

Bárbara Enríquez – “Roma,” “Resident Evil: Extinction”

Alice Felton – “The Favourite,” “Una”

Beauchamp Fontaine – “Nebraska,” “The Skeleton Key”

Akiko Matsuba – “Shoplifters,” “Like Father, like Son”

Tom Miller – “Incredibles 2,” “Cars”

Julia Roeske – “Never Look Away,” “Womb”


Graphic Designer

Susan Burig – “Avengers: Infinity War,” “The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge out of Water”

Congratulations to all of the new members invited to the AMPAS Production Design Branch.

If you enjoyed this post, you can find more Awards posts here.

Posted by Rose Lagacé

Rose Lagacé is a production designer for film & television by day and an emerging filmmaker by night. Rose is also the creator and editor of Art Departmental where she celebrates the art and craft of production design.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.