The 2018 Satellite Awards Winner for Best Production Design

The International Press Academy announced the 22nd Annual Satellite Awards winners in Motion Pictures and Television this week. Take a look.

The International Press Academy announced the 22nd Annual Satellite Awards winners in Motion Pictures and Television this week, along with naming VFX luminary Robert Legato as the 2017 Tesla Award recipient and multi-talented writer/actor/director Greta Gerwig, director of Lady Bird, as this year’s Auteur honoree.

The 2017 Tesla recipient Robert Legato follows John Toll. Legato is a three-time Academy Award winner whose deft atmospheric command of Visual Effects can be seen in movies as diverse as The Jungle Book to Hugo, as well as in iconic films such as Titanic.

Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk joined The Shape of WaterGet OutThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, MissouriLady BirdThe Big SickI, Tonya, God’s Own Country, Call Me by Your Name, and Mudbound in the category of Best Picture with Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri winning the “Major” category and God’s Own Country winning the “Independent” category.

The Satellite Awards is an award ceremony honoring artistic excellence in the areas of the year’s Motion Pictures, Television, Radio, and New Media, presented by the International Press Academy. The IPA selects nominees from domestic and international submissions for 32 categories: 19 Motion Picture and 13 Television. Nominations are derived from advance screenings, film festivals worldwide (BAFTA, Cannes, Sundance, Telluride, TIFF, etc), as well as consideration screeners and/or sanctioned links as available by the deadline.

The 22nd Satellite Awards will took place on February 11, 2018. For the full list of winners, click here.

2017 Satellite Awards Nominations for Best Production Design

2017 Satellite Awards Nominations

Blade Runner 2049 / Warner Bros.


Production Designer: Dennis Gassner

Supervising Art Director: Paul Inglis

Set Decorator: Alessandra Querzola

2017 Satellite Awards Nominations

Dunkirk / Warner Bros.


Production Designer: Nathan Crowley

Supervising Art Directors: Kevin Ishioka and Eggert Ketilsson

Supervising Set Decorator: Gary Fettis

Set Decorator: Emmanuel Delis

2017 Satellite Awards Nominations

The Shape of Water / Fox Searchlight


Production Designer: Paul D. Austerberry

Art Director: Nigel Churcher

Set Decorators: Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin


2017 Satellite Awards Nominations

Get Out / Universal


Production Designer: Rusty Smith

Art Director: Chris Craine

Set Decorator: Leonard R. Spears

2017 Satellite Awards Nominations

Downsizing / Paramount


Production Designer: Stefania Cella

Supervising Art Director: Kimberley Zaharko

Set Decorators: Patricia LarmanKaren Manthey, and Odetta Stoddard

2017 Satellite Awards Nominations

Phantom Thread / Focus Features


Production Designer: Mark Tildesley

Supervising Art Director: Denis Schnegg

Set Decorator: Véronique Melery

For a full list of the 2017 Satellite Awards nominees and winners, click here.

How do you feel about the The Shape of Water winning Best Production Design at the Satellite Awards? Which films do you think were snubbed? Which nominees were you rooting for? As always, I’d really love to know your thoughts in the comments below.

Rose Lagacé | @artdepartmental

For more on awards season, click here.

Posted by Rose Lagacé

Rose Lagacé is a production designer for film & television by day and an emerging filmmaker by night. Rose is also the creator and editor of Art Departmental where she celebrates the art and craft of production design.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.