The 2019 Satellite Awards Winners for Best Production Design

The International Press Academy announced the 23rd Annual 2019 Satellite Awards winners in Motion Pictures and Television today. Take a look.

The International Press Academy announced the 23rd Annual 2019 Satellite Awards winners in Motion Pictures and Television today including their best production design category which you can see below.

The IPA also named Ryan Coogler as one of the youngest recipients of the Auteur Award, given to filmmakers with creative vision and unique artistry. Coogler directed Black Panther, Fruitvale Station, Creed and the upcoming Black Panther II. He joins other Auteur honorees such as George Clooney, Roger Corman, Peter Bogdanovich, Robert Altman, Julian Schnabel among others.

The Mary Pickford Award for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to the Entertainment Industry and the Tesla Award for Visionary Achievement in Filmmaking Technology will be announced in February.

The Satellite Awards is an award ceremony honoring artistic excellence in the areas of the year’s Motion Pictures, Television, Radio, and New Media, presented by the International Press Academy. The IPA selects nominees from domestic and international submissions for 32 categories: 19 Motion Picture and 13 Television. Nominations are derived from advance screenings, film festivals worldwide (BAFTA, Cannes, Sundance, Telluride, TIFF, etc), as well as consideration screeners and/or sanctioned links as available by the deadline.

The 23rd Annual 2019 Satellite Awards will be held on February 22, 2019. For the full list of announced winners, click here.

2019 Satellite Awards Nominees for Best Production Design

2019 Satellite Awards


Production Designer: Hannah Beachler
Supervising Art Director: Alan Hook
Set Decorator: Jay Hart


Production Designer: Stuart Craig
Supervising Art Director: Martin Foley
Set Decorator: Anna Pinnock

2019 Satellite Awards


Production Designer: Fiona Crombie
Supervising Art Director: Lynne Huitson
Set Decorator: Alice Felton

2019 Satellite Awards


Production Designer: Nathan Crowley
Supervising Art Director: Erik Osusky
Set Decorator: Kathy Lucas

2019 Satellite Awards


Production Designer: John Myhre
Supervising Art Director: Niall Moroney
Set Decorator: Gordon Sim

2019 Satellite Awards


Production Designer: Eugenio Caballero
Art Directors: Carlos Benassini and Oscar Tello
Set Decorator: Barbara Enriquez

For a full list of the 2019 Satellite Awards nominees and winners, click here.

How do you feel about Mary Poppins Returns winning Best Production Design at the Satellite Awards? Which films do you think were snubbed? Which nominees were you rooting for? As always, I’d really love to know your thoughts in the comments below.

Rose Lagacé | @artdepartmental

For more on awards season, click here.

Posted by Rose Lagacé

Rose Lagacé is a production designer for film & television by day and an emerging filmmaker by night. Rose is also the creator and editor of Art Departmental where she celebrates the art and craft of production design.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.